Merensky hosts two events at new municipal swimming pool

Merensky High School was honoured to host two galas at the new municipal swimming pool in Tzaneen. After a decade of not having the privilege to compete in a 50m pool, swimmers from nine schools enjoyed the pristine new pool on two consecutive days: firstly the top schools meet on Friday 16 October and the Limpopo swimming championships on Saturday 17 October.

Merensky ended in fifth place overall, and congratulate the following individuals on their achievements:

Doran Kleynhans, Boys u.14, 1st 50m backstroke, 2nd 50m fly
Megan-Mae van der Nest, Girls u.14, 2nd 50m breaststroke
Jenelle de Jonge, Girls u.14, 2nd 50m freestyle
Ariel Viljoen, Girls u.14, 3rd 50m backstroke
Jaco-Jacques Joubert, Boys u.15, 1st 50m breaststroke
Mikyle le Roux, Boys open, 3rd 50m breaststroke
Gwendy Botha, Girls open, 3rd 50m freestyle
Leandi Toerien, Girls open, 2nd 50m breaststroke

Concerning the relays Merensky’s u.14 girls came second with the medley and third with freestyle. The open boys ended third with their medley and the open girls ended second with their medley.

Three of Merensky’s swimmers qualified for the Limpopo schools championships on Saturday 17 October.

ELIGIBLE FOR THE LIMPOPO TEAM: Megan-Mae van der Nest and Ivan Botha.
ELIGIBLE FOR THE LIMPOPO TEAM: Megan-Mae van der Nest and Ivan Botha.

Megan-Mae van der Nest participated in the girls u.14 category. Her results are as follows: 50m back stroke, first place; 50m breast stroke, second place; 100m breast stroke, second place and 200m breast stroke, third place.

Ivan Botha participated in the boys open category. He was placed second in the 50m fly, and third in the 50m and 100m backstroke.

The star of the Plasie team was Doran Kleynhans who competed in the boys u.14 category. He received 4 gold medals for 50m, 100m and 200m backstroke as well as 50m breaststroke. He was awarded silver medals for 100m freestyle, 50m fly and 200m individual medley.

These three swimmers may now be included in the Limpopo team to compete against other provinces during December.